Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum

Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum

Monthly Update sign up
Mailing List signup
Getting Materials
Using Materials

  HOME     About This Workshop     Teacher-Talk     Support Materials     Site Map  
First Steps A Shared Path Different Audiences Different Purposes
Usage and Mechanics Providing Feedback on Student Writing Learning from Professional Writers Writing in the 21st Century
The People Who Contributed to This Workshop
For more biographical information on our contributors, please consult the Introduction to Developing Writers: A Workshop for High School Teachers guide.

Teachers Featured in the Videos

Other Voices in the Conversation National Advisory Panel Production Credits
  • Executive in Charge of Production
    • Gail Porter Long

  • Executive Producer
    • Carol Jackson

  • Content Development
    • Ann Chatterton Klimas

  • Producers
    • Darcy Corcoran
    • Maura Daly Phinney
    • Christine Nusbaum

  • Writers
    • Darcy Corcoran
    • Lauren Abbey Greenberg
    • Ann Chatterton Klimas
    • Christine Nusbaum

  • Editors
    • Maryland Public Television
      • Kathy Pugh
    • Kit and Kaboodle Productions
      • Neil Beller

  • Associate Producers
    • William Beustring
    • Maggie Stevens

  • Assistant Producer
    • Katie Klimas

  • Intern
    • Nathan Avant-Pybas

  • Narrator
    • Christopher Graybill
Program Participants
  • Teachers
    • Joan Cone
      El Cerrito High School
      El Cerrito, California

    • MaryCarmen Cruz
      Cholla High Magnet School
      Tucson, Arizona

    • Charles Ellenbogen
      Baltimore City College High School
      Baltimore, Maryland

    • Susie Lebryk-Chao
      Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
      Alexandria, Virginia

    • Robyn Jackson
      Gaithersburg High School
      Gaithersburg, Maryland

    • Lori Mayo
      Far Rockaway High School
      Queens, New York

    • Kelly Quintero
      Huntington High School
      Long Island, New York

    • Renee Spencer
      Woodrow Wilson High School
      Portsmouth, Virginia

  • Educators
    • Kyleen Beers
      Senior Reading Researcher, School Development Program, Yale University

    • Lucy McCormick Calkins
      Founding Director, Teachers College Reading and Writing Project, Teachers College, Columbia University

    • Amy Benjamin
      Chair, English Department
      Hendrick Hudson High School in Montrose, New York

    • Brock Haussamen
      Professor of English
      Raritan Valley Community College of New Jersey

    • Martha Kolln
      Former Associate Professor of English
      Pennsylvania State University

    • Rebecca Wheeler, Ph.D.
      Associate Professor, Department of English and Teacher Education
      Christopher Newport University

  • Authors
    • Kevin Brooks
    • Rafael Jesús González
    • Maxine Hong Kingston
    • Margo Jefferson
    • Patrick Jennings
    • Ruthanne Lum McCunn
    • Christopher Myers
    • Judith Ortiz Cofer
    • Tracy Mack
    • Amy Tan

  • Special thanks to Kendra Jones, Salisbury University, Salisbury, Maryland
National Advisory Panel
  • Dale Allender
    Associate Executive Director, National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)

  • Sheridan Blau, Ph.D.
    Director, South Coast Writing Project and the Literature Institute for Teachers

  • Azalie Brown Hightower
    English teacher, Calvin Coolidge Senior High School, Washington, D.C.

  • Valerie Kinloch, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor in the English Education/Teaching of English Program, Teachers College, Columbia University

  • Tennessee Reed

  • Paula Simon
    Coordinator of English and Reading, Secondary Programs, Baltimore County Public Schools, Maryland

  • Victor Villanueva, Ph.D.
    Author and chair, English Department, Washington State University
Video Production
  • Opening Titles
    • William Beustring, Producer
    • Stephen Smith, Editor

  • Lead Field Videographers
    • Frank Leung
    • Kim Moir
    • Tim Pugh
    • Marlene Rodman
    • Henry Bautista
    • David Earnest

  • Additional Field Videographers
    • A Million Images - Christopher Million
    • Beyond Our Reality Productions - Todd Schoenberger
    • Kevin Cloutier
    • Ed Fabry
    • Studio B Films - David Collier
    • Stone Mountain Productions - Richard Copley
    • TV Crews USA - Bob Peterson

  • Field Sound
    • TV Crews USA - Jim Peterson - Bob Peterson
    • Ken Lane
    • Mark Kaplan
    • Gordon Masters

  • Post Production Sound
    • John Davidson

  • Closed Captioning
    • Judi Mann
    • Robin Gautney

  • Special Thanks
    • Columbia University School of Journalism
    • Columbia University Teacher's College
    • The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
    • NCTE Annual Convention
    • The Peabody Hotel - Memphis
Online/Print Supporting Materials
  • Project Manager
    • Bill Gonzalez

  • Online Design
    • ByteJam

  • Technical Support
    • Chris Klimas, Associate Online Producer, MPT

  • Writers
    • Ann Chatterton Klimas
    • Kathleen Dudden Rowlands

  • For MPT
    Director of Business Affairs
    • Joan Foley

  • For Annenberg Media
    Project Officer
    • Deborah A. Batiste

155 previous   next 


Build a Rubric 
Writer's Notebook 

© Annenberg Foundation 2017. All rights reserved. Legal Policy